albacores Reaching

The first Harbour Master's Series was held in 1978, organized by the North Toronto Sailing Club, Westwood Sailing Club, and the Royal Canadian Yacht Club. Captain John Mann, the Harbourmaster of Toronto, donated a trophy, which is what gives the series its name.

The Canadian Albacore Association publishes results from the Harbourmaster series, held in the Toronto Harbour on alternating Sundays during the sailing season.

The specific location of races depends on the club hosting. Four of the hosting clubs are located adjacent to Cherry Beach, so races are generally held in the Outer Harbour. 

Responsibility for hosting these races is split between 5 Sailing clubs:

Races start at 1:00 PM, and have a target length of 40 minutes. Two races are sailed every event day (weather permitting).

Note that races hosted by the Toronto Island Sailing Club are run in the inner harbour, between downtown Toronto and Toronto Island.

Check the Event Calendar for the Harbourmaster schedule.

Open Racing

The Harbourmaster race series is open to all class-legal albacores who have signed up and paid the registration fee.

Two races are sailed on race days. Commemorative mugs are awarded to the top three finishers in each race.

An overall score for the year is taken by adding up a sailor's best finishes. Typically the best 8 results are taken over a full season.